Alteneuland

Click on image to enlarge
Artist:

Tanya Preminger

Location:

Kikar, Hasharon at Harei Yehuda
Ganey-Tikva

Size:

430 x 160 x 50

Material:

Stone, concrete, and mosaic

Date:

2003

Description A blue mosaic partial elipse encased in a rough stone base
Caption A sculpture that references a Zionist novel.
"The Old New Land" (or Altneuland in the original German) is a utopian novel published by Theodor Herzl, the founder of political Zionism, in 1902. Outlining Herzl's vision for a Jewish state in the Land of Israel, "Altneuland" became one of Zionism's establishing texts. It was translated into Yiddish by Israel Isidor Elyashev. Translated into Hebrew as 'Tel Aviv', by Nahum Sokolow - it directly influenced the choice of the same name for the Jewish-Zionist Jaffa suburb founded in 1909 which was to become a major Israeli city.
From Wikipedia: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Old_New_Land

To see other projects by Tanya Preminger  
“And Time to Displace” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=and-time-to-displace]
“Autumn” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=autumn]
“Axe” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=autumn]
“Bloom” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=bloom]
“Border Stone” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=border-stone]
“Bunch” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=bunch]
“Cup” in Ganey-Tikva: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=cup]
“Four Mothers” in Holon: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=four-mothers]
“Fruit of the Earth” in Ganey-Tikva: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=fruit-of-the-earth]
“Origin” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=origin]
“Pegasus” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=pegasus]
“Pyramid” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=pyramid]
"Rotation" in Modi’in: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=rotation
“Sauce Pan” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=sauce-pan]
“Similars” in Netanya: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=similars]
“Simple Relations: at Tefen Industrial Park: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=simple-relations]
“The Tension Fields” in Netanya: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=the-tension-fields]
“Throne” at Park Dina: [http://israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=throne] 
Other References About the artist: http://www.tanyapreminger.com About Alteneuland: