Bike Rider

Click on image to enlarge
Artist:

David Gerstein

Location:

Topor Sculpture Garden, Sheba Hospital, Tel Hashomer
Ramat Gan

Material:

Lazercut steel and paint

Date:

2003

Description A brightly painted sculpture
Caption "As a painter and a sculptor, an excellent draughtsman and a dexterous designer, David Gerstein seeks to expand the limits of two-dimensional paintings into three-dimensional sculptures. In his choice of subject matter he wishes to break down the existing barriers between the work of art and its audience by creating enchanted and straightforward images, which render, at times, intimate, dream-like scenes and at other times, cinemascope-like, large scale, choreographed events. His easily recognizable artistic colorful syntax have developed gradually, reflecting a search for a distinct voice, which ranges from the local to the universal and echoes several levels of representation simultaneously.
"By Irena Gordon, from the artist's web site: www.davidgerstein.com/

For David Gerstein’s studio web site go to: http://www.davidgerstein.com  
 
To watch a video go to: [http://www.davidgerstein.com/video.php?item_id=2]  
 
You can see other Gerstein projects at: 
“Armillary” at Hebrew University: [http://www.israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=armillary]
“Bike Rider” at Topor Sculpture Garden: [http://www.israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=bike-rider
“Head Within A Head” at Hebrew University: [http://www.israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=head-within-a-head]
“Homage to Alterman” on Dizengoff Street; [http://www.israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=homage-to-alterman]
“Peace Unto Israel” at Hebrew University: [http://www.israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=peace-unto-israel]
“Soul Bird” at Halochmim Street, Holon: [http://www.israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=soul-bird

“Spirit of Freedom" at Tel Aviv University: [http://www.israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=spirit-of-freedom
“The Bicycle Rider” at Hebrew University: [http://www.israelpublicart.com/public_art/?art=the-bicycle-rider]